Baby

17 Jan

Baby
That’s what you called me.
Every night. Every morning.
What do you call me now.
What do you think of me now.
You thought I was delicate, like a china doll.
Breakable?
You thought that I could be muffled.
Shut up?
You thought that I would wait forever?
Wait?
Obviously you thought I was a different girl.
I’m nobody’s baby
And you’re nobody’s man.
You’ll never be a man, baby.
Always a boy.
Get yourself another baby.

7 Responses to “Baby”

  1. me January 18, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    waw…i could sense the anger and dissapointment in your writting..He does not deserve you if you feel this way, great that your walking away and prioritizing yourself and your feelings.

  2. madalynrae January 26, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Wow. I’m not normally one for poetry, but that was really strong. You are a very talented poet.

  3. sugashonuff January 29, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    What I’m going to say next has no relation to your abilities as a poet. Understand? You are a fantastic poet(ess?) (and I’m not just saying that because you commented on my stuff, though I am just saying that based on only one poem that you’ve written that I’ve read.)
    What I want to say (because someone has to say it) is that no one puts baby in a corner. Did I build that up too much? I think so.

    • breanacarrier January 29, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      hahaha thanks. this was written way before my dirty dancing obsession in fact it inspired the obsession.

  4. nyagwoka January 29, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    @brean kudoz

  5. Brit Miller January 29, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Excellent as always, Breana. 🙂

Leave a Reply

